ECE Banner

ECE Welcomes New Faculty Dr. Houman Homayoun and Dr. Jeremy Munday

The UC Davis Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering welcomes Dr. Houman Homayoun and Dr. Jeremy Munday upon their appointment as Associate Professor and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, respectively.

Dr. Homayoun graduated in 2010 from University of California, Irvine with a Ph.D. in Computer Science. He was a recipient of the four-year University of California, Irvine Computer Science Department chair fellowship.

He brings his expertise in hardware security, computer system security, heterogeneous computing, and energy-efficient computing and serves as the director of GMU’s Accelerated, Secure, and Energy-Efficient Computing Laboratory (ASEEC).

Dr. Homayoun conducts research in hardware security and trust, data-intensive computing and heterogeneous computing, where he has published more than 100 technical papers in the prestigious conferences and journals on the subject. Since 2012, he lead eleven research projects, a total of $7.6 million in funding, supported by DARPA, AFRL, NSF, NIST, and GM on the topics of hardware security and trust, big data computing, heterogeneous architectures, machine learning for malware detection, side-channel attacks, and biomedical computing. He received the 2016 GLSVLSI conference best paper award for developing a manycore accelerator for compute-intensive biomedical applications. Since 2017 he has been serving as an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on VLSI.

Dr. Jeremy N. Munday will be joining the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department as a professor with his experience as a scholar of nanophotonics, plasmonics, clean energy technology, and quantum materials/phenomena.

Dr. Munday was an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park. He received his PhD in Physics from Harvard University and was a postdoctoral scholar at Caltech prior to his appointment at Maryland. His research themes range from quantum electromechanical phenomena (such as the Casimir effect) to fundamental solar energy conversion processes with an emphasis on the optics, photonics, and thermodynamics of such systems. He is a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award, the ONR Young Investigator Program Award, the DARPA Young Faculty Award, the OSA Adolph Lomb Medal, the IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award, the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award, and the NASA Early Career Faculty Space Technology Research Award.

Please join us in welcoming these two into our department, we are looking forward to their great accomplishments and contributions!

Primary Category